Reading Letter 7- Kelley

Book: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Author: J.K. Rowlings

Pages: 158/734

I really didn’t make much progress in this book since my last reading letter because I didn’t read over fall break. So far in the book, Harry Potter, a student of Hogwarts School of magic, has been to the Quidditch World Cup with his friend Ron. The Quidditch World Cup is an event where the two best quidditch teams in the world duel. Quidditch is a game where you fly around on a broom and try to hit flying objects into a goal. After the match is over, some old servants of an evil wizard named Voldemort run around and harass muggles (non-magic people). Then somebody casts a dark mark (the old signature of Voldemort) into the air and there is a big commotion about it. The commotion is because nobody had seen one for 13 years.

I really like this book. While I’m reading it I realize how cram-packed the movie is. I think reading the book has revealed a lot that I had questioned in the movie. But reading this book is also kind of boring in the big picture. I say that because, after seeing the movie first, I know basically what is going to happen, who turns out to be the bad guy, etc. But other than that, I think this book is really fun to read. I don’t even really care that much about magic and spells, but this book puts a different spin on it. I really like the book and would recommend it to anyone.

Leave a Reply