writing #5-Hallie Sutton

When I’m frozen in time,

lost and afraid,

I am winter’s cloud gray.

Glum and dark

a companion to misery,

I have nothing to say.

Even though the sky for you

is a pleasant robin’s egg blue,

a perpetual cloud rains torrents on my head.

But, this is barely half of the life I have led.

For after the rain comes to an end

(A sometimes quick, sometimes long mend)

My true colors shine and you will see,

that a rainbow is truly part of me.

Never defined by a known shade or hue,

each day you will uncover,

vibrant red, ever green, and Valentine pink,

tones of purple, yellow, orange, and blue,

together forming an endless link that shines anew.

This may sound crazy and conceited the same,

but your doubts will surely be put to shame.

For in me is a rainbow, though sadly it will wane,

finally to give way

to a silent, impossible gray…

2 thoughts on “writing #5-Hallie Sutton

  1. Wow, that was really good. I liked how you used a variety of words instead of reapeating yourself. You also used colors and good detail, which really made me feel like I was there. Good job.

  2. Hallie,
    That was a really great writing, i know i couldn’t keep going that lon in a rhyming poem. I liked the word selections!

Leave a Reply