Reading Letter #3- 3rd Quarter- Brianna

The Diamond of Drury Lane
By Julia Golding
Page 210-260 out 419

This book is about a girl named Catherine “Cat” Royal. She lives in a theater and has lived there her whole life. Cat finds out that a diamond is hidden in the theatre. Not much has been found out about the diamond so far. Cat also discovers that her new friend Pedro isn’t as trustworthy as she thought. Just recently in the book Cat finds out that a cartoonist, Johnny, against the king is wanted and this person happens to be working at the theatre. I left off where Cat is trying to decide if she should tell Pedro about Johnny.

This book is good. I haven’t gotten much read because I recently had to return it to the library and just got another copy. I plan on finishing it soon. 🙂 I have some questions about what I read though. Will she tell Pedro about Johnny? Will Cat get attacked by another gang? Will Johnny secret get out to the public? Where is the diamond? Is it really in the theatre? Will Cat get in trouble for knowing all these secrets? I hope my questions are answered in the rest of the book. The book is confusing at times because the language and dialect is from the 1790s. This is really different from today. I like how the book is divided up. It is divided into Acts and Scenes because the book talks about the theatre around this time. I also think it does this because Cat is writing a book on what is going on, so it could later be turned into a play. It is interesting how big the theatre was back then. I would recommend this book to a friend.

One thought on “Reading Letter #3- 3rd Quarter- Brianna

  1. Hey Brianna! I thought that you did a good job. You followed the format, and had little errors. Good job-maddie

Leave a Reply