Student Writing 1- Anna T- quarter 4

Ambassador Essay

Ambassadors, to me, is not just a way of making friends or being in a club, but a way to better other students’ Greenwood experience. When I was in kindergarten, I had an intern in my class named Jana Brown. I was still a little new to carrying my tray in the lunch line, and one day I dropped my tray in front of the whole cafeteria. I was mortified. Everyone in the room was staring at me, but one person came to help. That person was Jana – “big” high school student. I already looked up to her, but was especially connected to her after that experience.
Although it might seem like a small gesture, to me it was huge. It showed me that a high school student knew me and wanted to help me. Since that time, I’ve always wanted to be a “Jana” for another student. Last year, I was at the Sock-Hop and I saw how the Ambassadors worked with the elementary kids, and how happy they were that the “big” high school students were at their dance. I realized that Ambassadors was my opportunity to be a “Jana.” Being a Greenwood student is an experience I am privileged to have. Greenwood is a family environment that has made my kindergarten through 8th grade school years rewarding. My classmates are not just classmates, but are also my friends, and we continue to grow closer each year.

As I approach high school, I’ve found that talking to Ambassadors has helped to calm my nerves about beginning my freshman year. I know if I ever needed any help, I could always turn to an Ambassador. My sister has been an Ambassador since her freshman year, and the work she does has drawn to me apply. I want to be an example for others, like they have been for me. I am also interested in the outreach work the Ambassadors do. I have volunteered at C.A.R.E. animal shelter and at my church, and I loved it. I know the Ambassadors do a lot of volunteering, not only for the school, but also for other programs. The work the Ambassadors do for graduation, grandparent’s day, public affairs conference, and PTA meetings are examples of service to our school and the community. As John F. Kennedy said, “Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other.” The Ambassadors are examples of this ideal. It would be an honor to be an Ambassador and give back to the school that has given so much to me.

One thought on “Student Writing 1- Anna T- quarter 4

  1. I really enjoyed reading your ambassador paper, it was well written and a great read. – Taylor

Leave a Reply