Purple Petals-Ballad Poem-Nikki-Writing 2

Purple Petals
The lush and long grass brushed against my knees
I smiled as I felt the soft and cool breeze
The warmth of sun felt great on my face
But how had I gotten to this wonderful place?

I drifted through the meadow like paper through wind
I hoped to never leave, the thought made me grin
I lay on a patch of soft and thin grass
And I must have let minutes or hours go pass

Turning on my side I saw a long stem
The color was like a sparkling emerald gem
Following the stem I saw a burst of color
Though it looked so large it was much smaller

Smaller than the grass, smaller than the tree
Smaller than the sunflowers, and smaller than me
This wonderfully purple monocot flower
Was a beautiful light purple shower

How could I have been so lucky to stumble
Upon this flower that had made me feel so humble?
I felt its petals, so soft and light
I looked at its center, so orange and bright

“April!” I heard my mother shout
But I did not want to leave this flower, no doubt
Smiling at the flower I snapped down by its roots
I could smell my mother’s pie baked out of fruits

“I will take you with me,” I said to the flower
I lifted it up and felt so in power
I took one last look at my wonderful scene
Carrying my flower I walked away from the green

To my house I traveled with glee
Jumping and singing I felt so free
My flower was great, my flower was fine
My flower was beautiful, my flower is mine.
-Nikki

2 thoughts on “Purple Petals-Ballad Poem-Nikki-Writing 2

  1. I love the references to gems and scientific flower names :)! I don’t really hear too many poems about purple things, since nothing rhymes with purple, and yet you did such an amazing job!

  2. ” To my house I traveled with glee
    Jumping and singing I felt so free
    My flower was great, my flower was fine
    My flower was beautiful, my flower is mine”
    That was my favorite part!

Leave a Reply