Reading Letter 3-Eliza

Author: Patricia C. Kissack

Pages: All

Book:

A Picture of Freedom, The Diary of Clotee, a Slave Girl

In this part of the book I read more about Clotee. Clotee is a slave on a large plantation. She carried on chores like dusting the office and fanning the boy of the master while he was doing homework. When she would fan him she would also be learning how to read and spell. This is how she kept a diary.

This book is a very good view on how slaves serve and carry out their daily tasks in the big plantation house. In the slavery books I have read in the past gave me the thought that slaves didn’t live in the master’s house. However, many slaves did live in the house to carry on chores such as making the family a meal or dusting the office. In my perspective I think that people beating is appalling and hard to even imagine. I think that the author did a very good job on spelling things wrong but not too much. This book was very good and I was impressed. When I got to the part when a new slave came in it made me think. I thought about many things. How would they take her in? Would she tell on them for doing things? What has happend to her to make her so sad? Are they going to be mean?

One thought on “Reading Letter 3-Eliza

Leave a Reply