memoir draft: joaquin

I was at my house minding my own business in my room on the top floor of my house. Out of nowhere, I hear a scream coming from the garage, two floors down. My heart starts racing and I quickly get up from my bed and leave my room. I run past my parents’ room and down the stairs to the living room. My little 5-year-old legs caring my as fast as they could down the second set of stairs to the garage. Once I get there the door is wide open and my dad is helping up my brother, Gabriel, while he is screaming out in pain.

My dad tells me in a voice almost like a scream of fear “go get the bandages, they are in the bottom drawer in the laundry room”.

Very scared and wondering what happened I quickly run over to the laundry room and get the bandages. When I get back to the garage, I give the bandages to my dad and he raps them around Gabriel’s forehead. He tells me to get into the car and that we were going to the hospital. Now I was very scared about what had happened, but my dad still hadn’t told me.

Once we were in the car my dad says” hold Gabriel’s bandages up so they don’t fall off”. His voice sounding both mad and scared at the same time.

I hold up the bandages and make sure nothing happens. My mind was racing thinking about what could have happened since I didn’t know yet. About halfway to the hospital, I got the courage to ask my dad” what happened?”.

my dad stays silent for a bit and focuses on driving as fast as he can. He is clearly scared and concerned for my brother but not as much as when I first saw him in the garage. He answers my question by saying   ”Gabriel slipped on his way down the stairs to the garage and hit his head on the edge of the stairs”

The rest of the ride I keep holding the bandages and wonder if my brother will be alright. Once we get the hospital we get out of the car and walk over to the emergency room. We check-in and then are told to wait so we find a seat and wait. We are waiting for about half an hour until my brother is called in by a doctor. By this time all the fear has gone away, I figured that if they made him wait this long the cut isn’t anything life-threatening. After waiting so long all I wanted was to go home because it was getting late and I was both hungry and bored.

After even more waiting and even more boredom my dad returns and he tells me “ Gabriel is fine but we will have to be here until midnight so a doctor can glue the skin back together”.

before my dad could say anything else I started complaining and was very mad, why did I have to stay when Gabriel is fine. My dad did end up finding a solution, he called my best friend at the time and asked if I could come over to a sleep-over. They agreed and I can’t remember much of anything after that, all I know is that I got to go to my friend’s house and everything was fine. My

Leave a Reply