Ballad

Enzo Cricchio

English 8

9/23/20

 

My First Swim Meet 

 

I didn’t want to be there but my mom insisted that I was 

I told her I wasn’t good and pointed out all my technique flaws

She said that me being there would make the team feel supported 

She gave me a thumbs up and sat in bleachers and recorded

 

I stood in the diving block knowing I’d get beaten 

I was feeling like I’d throw up everything that I’d eaten

I waited for the words GO, words the judges would yell

And when they finally came I didn’t dive I simply fell

 

The faster I paddled the lower I sank 

I was like a dead fish in an enormous concrete tank

I got to the end of pool before realizing I was halfway there 

So I turned back the other way gasping for air

 

When I finally got to the other side I felt quite accomplished 

I felt quite good knowing I hadn’t perished

Although I knew I had been beat

I was just glad to be back on my own two feet

Leave a Reply