Reading Letter 7- draft- Sam M.

Book- Bud, Not Buddy

Author- Christopher Paul Curtis

Pages- 20/245

I just recently started reading the book Bud, Not Buddy. This book is by Christopher Paul Curtis. So far this book is about a young boy named Bud Caldwell. Bud has lived in an orphanage since the age of six. He was forced to live in the orphanage because his mother passed away. Bud hates the orphanage, when he gets adopted by the Amoses he is so happy. Then he finds out that the family is not very nice and the 12 year old son, Todd Amoses likes to pick on Bud. That is as far as I have gotten.

So far I like this book. I do find it very sad at some parts which makes me not like it as much because I don’t like depressing books. The fact that is takes place during the Great Depression also doesn’t help. I think that Bud is a very strong little boy because he has had to live in an orphanage since he was six years old. The way Bud describes the orphanage makes it sound like a place no one would every want to live. I think it is sad how he finally does get adopted by a family, but they just end up to be bad as well. Having an older brother that just picks on you does not sound like a fun life. Bud also gets blamed for a lot of stuff he doesn’t do. Like his brother, Todd, will tell his mother that Bud wet the bed. The mother despises of wetting the bed. So every time Todd tells his mother that Bud gets in trouble. If I was in Todd’s place I would run away and try to find a better, more caring place to live. I would only recommend this book to people who can handle pretty depressing stuff.

One thought on “Reading Letter 7- draft- Sam M.

  1. this doesnt seem like a good book, nor do you seem like you REALLY enjoy it. but you gave agood summary. you may want to add a new paragraph because your second is long.

Leave a Reply