Kodi J., 3rd quarter, Freewrite #1

CHRISTMAS VACATION

For my Christmas vacation, my family and my friend Brandon went on a 3-day ski trip. The 12-hour drive was horrible since the only thing we could do was watch movies on the truck’s DVD player. The only movies we had were movies we had no interest in, except Space Balls. Once we reached Wausau, Wisconsin it was 8:45 p.m. We entered our room and could see the ski slopes from our window. The hotel pool closed at 10, so Brandon and I decided to swim after we got settled in. The next day Brandon and I drug ourselves out of bed, eyes blood shot and hair shooting in all directions. We looked at each other and realized that today would be our first day snowboarding. The day started with a one-hour snowboarding lesson. Our teachers, Cody and Katie, helped us. It was like our very own private lesson. It was like 8 in the morning and the ski slopes did not have very many people on it.

Brandon and I really liked going down the hill with the air blowing on our faces and the snow flying behind us. Of course, we fell down a lot. The next day, Brandon and I jumped out of bed and were ready to go snowboarding again. That day, a cousin who lived nearby, came to help the two of us with our snowboarding. When he arrived, the first thing we did was go on the ski lift which I got an OK handle on. Brandon, on the other hand, had a hard time mastering it. For lunch, we ate at Subway and then went snowboarding again. Brandon was too afraid that he would crash if he went too fast. He thought that snow would get in his eyes even though he was wearing goggles the whole time. I would go down the hill really fast. Yes, I was afraid of crashing and hurting myself, but what is the fun in going slow? Later that day, Brandon complained about his snowboard and so we rented him a different one. While he and my dad were gone, my cousin, Nathan, and I went snowboarding down the hill several times before they got back. Before our last run of the day, we grabbed some hot, steamy cocoa. It was delicious and warmed me up very quickly. After our cocoa, we walked outside the lodge, into what seemed to be a blizzard. Within seconds, my fingers and toes were freezing. We quickly made our way to a different ski lift that stopped at the middle of the hill then continued on to the very steep top. Brandon and I considered ourselves lucky because we almost went to the top which would not have been a good place to be if you started snowboarding the day before. So as usual we all went down the hill and said our goodbyes to Nathan and he replied, “See you tomorrow!”

……to be continued in the next freewrite………

One thought on “Kodi J., 3rd quarter, Freewrite #1

  1. Kodi, good job but for the first two weeks, or the first student writing you were suppose to post your holocaust paper that we have not done yet.

Leave a Reply