Reading Letter #4- 3rd Quarter- Brianna

The Diamond of Drury Lane

By Julia Golding

Page 260 – the end(page 419)

The book is about a girl named Catherine Royal, but everyone calls her Cat. Cat has found out that a diamond is hidden in the theatre. In the part I finished this week she finds out what/who the diamond is. By the end of the book Cat has had many adventures. She has ended up in jail, gotten cornered by the local gang, saved someone’s life, and has become friends with royalty.

I finally finished this book. It took awhile, but it was very good. The book uses a lot of detail, so you feel as though you are in the book. I had a few questions about what happened though. Why did they say there was a real diamond, when there really isn’t? What is going to happen in the next book? How does the city she lives in feel about her after her time in jail? Will she ever be let off the hook for doing nothing? I like the set up of this book. It is set up as a play, with scenes and acts. I found it interesting that the book took place in 1790 and that the theatre was so big then. The book is confusing at times because the language and dialect is from the 1790s. This is really different from today. I can’t wait to get the next book in the sequence. I would recommend this book to a friend.

Leave a Reply