Reading Letter #6- Steven

pages read: 1-213 out of 338

Author: Jeanne DuPrau

I read pages 1-213 of the book The People of Sparks, by Jeanne DuPrau. The book is about Lina Mayfleet and Doon Harrow, who in the book before this, The City of Ember, save their people and lead them to the village of Sparks, a village that has just started growing since the Disaster happened. So far I really like the book. Jeanne DuPrau is a great author. I loved The City of Ember, so I thought I would give this book a try. DuPrau shows some hints of foreshadowing. For instance, early in the book, Doon finds a book called Science Projects, which has a project on how to create electricity. I took a peak at the last few pages, and somehow, Torren, one of the main characters, gets a light bulb and Doon creates the electricity machine, so there can be light. I suspected that would happen, and I was correct. I also liked how DuPrau put the book into a future setting, but it is not like the future that we expect. People are poor and homeless, and there is hardly any technology. DuPrau also picked the characters well. Making opposites becoming best friends was a great idea. I would give this book a nine point five out of ten.

5 thoughts on “Reading Letter #6- Steven

  1. Steven,
    I have read this book before and I didn’t think it was as good as the other books in the series, but that’s just my opinion. I saw some capitlization and grammar errors, plus it would be helpful to put the title of your book on the top of the reading letter. I hope you enjoy this book.

    Seth

  2. Steven-

    This is a really good book report. You told more about your feelings about the book then the actual summary. Next time I would try to add a little more. Overall good job!

    – Anna T

  3. Good reading letter! I think you explained everything really well, this sounds like a good book!

Leave a Reply