The Definitive Book of Body Language-RL 4-Q3-Nikki

The Definitive Book of Body Language

Allan and Barbara Pease

Page 142-191

In this section of The Definitive Book of Body Language, I learned that where you direct your eyes while talking to people could have a powerful impact on their perception of you.  Depending on where you gaze at a person can make them uncomfortable, weaken the meaning of your words, or come across too forceful. It can also make you appear powerful, intimate, or shy. The Definitive Book of Body Language also explains where people look while telling a story. When recalling something they heard, one looks to their ear, but when recalling a picture, one may glance up, trying to recall what it looked like.

I really enjoy The Definitive Book of Body Language because I can apply the skills I learn to every day interactions. I also enjoy being able to tell if someone is nervous, scared, or insecure. This allows me to have an inside look on what people are really thinking and feeling. The Eye Signals chapter is one of my favorites. Did you ever want to know why romantic places are always dimly lit? It is because humans find people with larger pupils more appealing. So while couples look lovingly into each other’s eyes, they find them more attractive. This is also why models eyes are digitally enlarged to make them appear more beautiful. The Definitive Book of Body Language is one of my favorite books. I recommend it to anyone that would like to know how to read what people may be thinking.

Leave a Reply