Memoir

Ally Johnson

The drop

There were fifteen minutes until we had to leave for school, and I had finished brushing my teeth. I hated my 3rd-grade teacher Mrs. Murphy, and her annoy daughter that she would bring with her to school in the mornings, so I was in no hurry to get to school. Before I go downstairs, I always climb the door jamb but, that day, I was climbing up the door jamb as if I were spiderman.  Once I got to the top, I look over my room to see the dirty laundry on the floor and my barbies scattered around from their dream house party last night. I took my feet off and let them dangle then I started to slowly swing my body until it felt like I was flying. Suddenly, my hands began to sweat, and I was losing my grip. BAM. I was lying on the cold tile floors of my bathroom.

“Ally,” my mom yelled, “Are you ready for school.” I started to cry, there was a throbbing pain in my right wrist and a gigantic goose egg on my forehead. I scooted to my bedroom where there is carpet, and I laid there and cried and called for my mom. She raced up the stairs and into my bedroom. I mumbled in pain while I explain to her what had happened. She was so apprehensive of my head injuries that she did not even pay any attention to my arm. We left my brother home so that a neighbor could bring him to school. We got in the car and drove right to the hospital, and my grandpa met us there.

At the hospital, it felt like I had to wait years for doctors to come and check on me. Finally, the doctor arrived, and she took me back to one of the x-ray rooms that was dark and mysterious to my seven-year-old self. In the middle of the room, there was a table surrounded by big machinery. I sat down, and one of the giant machines came over and scanned my arm. Once I got back to my room, the doctor told my mom that I had fractured my wrist.

About two hours later, I had been taken to get a cat scan of my head. The cat scan was like nothing I had never experienced before. I had to lay still, which is way harder to do when you are being told to do it rather than being naturally still. Then a circular object went over my head, and it was as if I were in a spaceship. My results had come back, and I had no major head injuries. I still, to this day, have not climbed a door jamb.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply