Memoir

 

Nathan Wu

Ms. Gibson

English 8

10 September 2020

Memoir

Every winter break, we always go somewhere in Asia. This winter break of 2017 my family and I decided to go visit our grandparents as usual and go to Thailand. Thailand was the peak of our trip. I remember that is was a hot sunny day. The warmth of the sun shining down on me as I exited the hotel. We were part of a tour, so we stepped into the bus. Previously, my mother told me that we were going to go to the beach. The bus started and drove for 20 minutes.

When we got there, I walked onto the sandy beach and the sand flowing between my toes. My mom asked me if I wanted to ride a banana boat. I knew what a banana boat was, and my sister has ridden one before. She always told me it was really fun, but a little scary too. The last one she has ridden was in Taiwan with our Grandpa. I was skeptical about riding one, but I really wanted to. It looked so much fun. There was a banana shaped float that people hung onto while connected to a jet ski. I agreed with riding the boat. I was very nervous.

My mom paid for the ride, which was not much, and my sister and my dad hopped onto the banana boat. I was first, then my sister, then my dad. The guy driving the jet ski looked back at us and told us “Are you ready”? We told him yes, then he lurched forward and drove the jet ski around the beach. We were going so fast with the wind blasting in my face. We drove in loopty – loops for around 5 minutes then the driver made a sharp turn and the banana boat did a full front 180. My 160-pound dad got flung in the air as so with my sister and I. I didn’t have much time to think. But all I remember that I got flung like 8 ft high and flipped, my mom described. I felt my adrenalin rush and landed in the water on my butt with a big SPLOOSH. Afterward, my mom got a picture of us riding the banana boat I always remembered that moment and I loved riding it. If I had the chance, I would ride it again.

Leave a Reply