Reading Letter

Devin Sanford
September 20, 2020

Hello Ms. Gibson,
Hatchet
Summary:
1-11
Brian is a 13-year-old boy in a single passenger plane on his way to live with his father. As he is in the air, the pilot was teaching him how to fly because it was only them two on board. While Brian is on board, he keeps thinking about how his parents got divorced. Then all the sudden, the pilot started having a heart attack. Brian’s emotions stopped.

Reaction:
I loved this part of the book, because it made me think that the story has been going fine, but in an instant, the pilot was having a heart attack and died. I like how the author foreshadowed about the heart attack by the pilot saying his shoulder was hurting. This book is like other books I have read because I read lots of James Patterson books. I want to remember the tips on flying a plane just in case I somehow end up in a situation like this, I will kind of know what to do. The book cover made me want to read the book because whenever I saw “Three-Time Newbery Honor Author” I thought it must be fairly good. This book does not have a table of contents

One thought on “Reading Letter

  1. Hey Devin,
    Good job picking up on the foreshadowing!! Sometimes it’s pretty subtle, but that sounds like a big hint!
    MsG

Leave a Reply