Reading Letter #1- Steven Jones

pages 320/320

Author: Chris Crutcher

I recently read the book Deadline by Chris Crutcher. It is about a boy named Ben Wolf. When he was getting he physical for cross country, he found out that he had cancer. And it was coming fast. The doctor said that he only had a year to live. So within that year, he did that he would have never before tried in his life.He joined the football team, and almost lead them to the state title. He asked the prettiest girl in school, and she said yes. He had a lot of fun adventures with her. He ends up dying in the end, but people still have the memory of him in their hearts.

This was a great book. I had never heard of this author before, so I was a little reluctant to read the book. But once I picked it up I couldn’t put the book down. The author had a great sense of tragedy, triumph, and sadness in this book. I liked how he had the main character not tell anyone for the time being. It built up a lot of suspense. I would have to say that this is a amazing book.

3 thoughts on “Reading Letter #1- Steven Jones

  1. Nice Steven, I have that book and agree that it is a very good book. That was a good description of the book, it felt like I was actually there, good job Steven.

  2. Good job, you had a good summary and reflection. The book sounded kind of depressing, though. Good job.

  3. Good job Steven, I’ve read the book and you explained it very well. Only a couple of mistakes but good job overall.

Leave a Reply