Student Writing #4- 2nd Quarter-Brianna-DRAFT

Swish swish, swash swash, swish swash, swish swash… The sled carries us closer to home. It has been a long day for my family and me. My family consists of me, my mom, my dad, and all our pets. We live in Alaska in a log cabin and eat lots of fish. We have a team of dogs that pull us from place to place. We have a great team of dogs. There are 5 dogs; the leader and my favorite is Riley. He is a strong loving dog that is part of the family more than the others. But all the dogs are great. Our cabin is pretty small with a kitchen, living room and two small bedrooms. The bathroom is outside, which is not fun in the winter. Riley and the other dogs stay in the cabin as well. They provide a lot of warmth at night. We also have a cat, Tabitha. She is so cute. I love fish, which is a good thing because we eat it a lot. In fact we went fishing today and it was a blast.

 

I woke up at four o’clock this morning and found out we were going fishing today. I hurried to get ready and we all ate a quick, but a big breakfast, for it was going to be a long day. We feed the dogs and after they eat we get the sled ready to go. We hook the dogs up, grab the fishing gear and off we go. Swish swash, swish swash, swish swash…  We are almost there. I can smell the ocean. A salty, fishy smell fills my nose. It isn’t that bad after awhile. We get there and lead the dogs to our boat. After parking the sled we climb onto the boat (with the dogs) and set sail.

 

It is a nice day, but the water is rough. I hope the fish are biting. We are 50 miles out to sea and the water is extremely rough. The waves are over the boat, crashing into you, knocking you over, feeling like someone just hit you.  Luckily the dogs are inside the little room on the boat and the boat is pretty big, so the waves don’t affect the boat. Just then I feel a tug on my fishing rod; then I am almost tugged off the boat. My dad catches me at the last moment. We all pitch in to pull up the fish, but not without a big battle with the fish. It is a huge halibut weighing 145 pounds!! This should last us awhile. We catch a few smaller fish and then head back to shore. On our way back to land the water calms down, as if rewarding us for the great catch.

 

The air is crisp when we get back to land. Winter is coming soon. I’m cold, wet and tired from a long, hard day of work. It is almost sundown, so we hurry to clean the fish, hook up the dogs and slide our way back home. Supper is going to be great tonight.

One thought on “Student Writing #4- 2nd Quarter-Brianna-DRAFT

  1. Brianna,
    Good writing. You added lot’s of detail and good expression. You did a good job on telling how you felt, nice work! ‘
    Lensie

Leave a Reply