It’s Coming. Chapter 1: The I-Nikki

It’s Coming.
Nikki Shah
Chapter 1: The I
The heavy breath of my horse, Beast, made me feel safer as I walked down the deserted countryside road. The fresh corn and wheat growing on either side of me had me wondering just when someone would jump out at me. It was nearly nightfall and I was worried I would have to sleep outside again. If it weren’t for the cold, bitter air biting at my nose, I probably wouldn’t have even considered going into the house, which appeared just over the hill. It was old and seemed to be abandoned by the looks of the overgrown grass and rusty gates. It wasn’t the normal countryside, abandoned house you would think of. The house seemed to be pulling me in, wanting me to walk into its open door.
I tied Beast to the nearest tree and walked in, hesitating to take even one more step. The second I walked into this old house, it seemed to come alive. I felt as if every picture was staring me down as I walked deeper into the mysterious house. All this time I felt like someone was watching me, but if I hadn’t been as occupied by the interesting house, I probably would have paid more attention to my instincts. The house was two stories high and I walked up the stairs calling “Is anyone here?” The next room I found was the most interesting, a little girl’s room no more than 7 years old. She had balloons and princesses all over her wall with baby dolls thrown across the room. And then I saw them, eyes, blood red eyes that were moving closer to me. They were coming through the open window and I saw the dark, shadowy figure emerging from the outside. I could feel my heart pounding nearly out of my chest.
I backed away slowly only to trip on one of the headless Barbie dolls. I screamed and tried to run out of the house. But I was too slow; it grabbed me, dragging me into the darkness. I clawed and fought off the death-grip of the stranger who was dragging me to my doom, but I couldn’t break free. After a few seconds of me screaming and clawing at the mysterious figure, it let go. I ran for what seamed like miles, out of the house. I could see the door and forced myself to not look back. The cold, dark air felt like I just dove into a pool of ice. I looked around, untying Beast from the tree. I struggled to get on her but finally managed.
She galloped down the rocky road. I couldn’t see anything and prayed we wouldn’t run into anything, or anyone. My eyes watered from the icy winter air. After about five minutes of traveling I had Beast stop to take a breath as I finally looked back, to see only emptiness. It then hit me that I had nowhere to go. I was a long way from home.

One thought on “It’s Coming. Chapter 1: The I-Nikki

Leave a Reply