reading letter week 5

Nathan Wu

19 September 2020

 

Dear Ms. Gibson,

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

J.K. Rowling

Page 40 – 90

 

Summary:

Harry gets invited to the by the Weasleys asking Harry to join them at the Quidditch World Cup.  Vernon resentfully lets Harry go. They are carried by portkeys to the World Cup camping area. Once they got there, they set up their tent. The game starts and, in the end, Ireland wins, by Viktor Krum, the Bulgarian Seeker, catches the Snitch. That night after the game, a crowd of Death Eaters attack the camp site. Harry, Hermione and Ron escape in the woods. Harry discovers that his wand is missing. Moments later someone fires the Dark Mark, which is the mark of Voldemort, an evil wizard, which happens to be Harry’s wand.

 

Response:

I was really fixated at the book during this section, because I was nervous, because of the death eaters and the dark mark. I also loved how Victor Krum, the Bulgarian seeker, would end up later in the book, competing in the Triwizard tournament against Harry. I loved the portkeys, because it defined a lot about the wizarding world. I would really wish that portkeys were in modern day, so I can just teleport to different locations, where I would need to go. I really like the wizarding world and I wish I could be a part of it.

One thought on “reading letter week 5

  1. Hey Nathan,
    I agree with you that the attack during the tournament was kind of interesting. And portkeys are really interesting ways to travel. Too bad they aren’t real!!!
    MsG

Leave a Reply